Chef Forum banner

meat thermometer recommendation please

2K views 6 replies 6 participants last post by  mike9 
#1 ·
Howdy, I am new to the forum and am simply a household cook. I love to cook and have made sure to teach my kids how to cook as well. We recently made a pork loin roast that was extremely flavourful but way overcooked. Very dry. This led me to my search for a good meat thermometer. Ideally it will be one I can leave in the roast and program to let me know when the meat hits a certain temperature. Having searched online I have come to the conclusion that every meat thermometer ever made is absolutely perfect and will not only tell you when the meat is cooked but clean up afterwards. SO a little help from those whose expertise is well beyond my own and who actually cook would be extremely welcome.

Thanks

Steve

#2 ·
Hi.  I am a home cook, too.  

While I have a probe type thermometer (stab the food and cook until it reaches a certain temp) I am not a fan.

I splurged ($99.00 or so) for a Thermapen thermometer.  It's an Instant read thermometer, with a capitol "l".

Three seconds to an accurate temp.  You can temp the surface, a quarter inch in or the center.  It is brilliant!  

You can't really trust a single temp in one spot on a roast.  I know a  professional chef who checks multiple spots, and has his assistant cooks check multiple temps for verification..  That may be extreme for a home cook, but being able to take a few temps quickly is invaluable.  

Amazon is your friend.

Dan

#3 · (Edited)