Managing Anxiety/Depression in the Industry

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by chefsing, Jul 24, 2017.

1. chefsing

chefsing

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    Greetings-
    Long time reader of the forum, I have learned and progressed my career a lot from your postings and respect all of your professional feedback. I have dug through the webpage and have not found much useful information on how professional chefs manage there anxiety/depression/massive amounts of stress from the industry beyond pointing out the fact that substance abuse is quite a common trait seen. For background, I have 12 years of professional experience- 5 as at the Executive Chef level. High anxiety and depression has always been a common factor in my life, but cooking in restaurants was something that allowed my brain to maintain focus on something else to keep those demons at bay mostly while doing something I enjoyed (very much still do) and am quite good at. However, the daily grind and stressors of restaurant work is having its toll on those demons again and becoming increasingly difficult to personally manage and control and affecting my day to day life immensely- I'm just increasingly tired, agitated, and simply running out of care. I still greatly enjoy cooking food and feeding people, but my love for the restaurant industry is simply vanishing. It is not the restaurant I work for and a change of scenery will not fix the uneasy feelings (have tried that). For the industry we are in, I know that I am quite fortunate to have a decent salary, vacation and PTO and benefits- the works- but the burnout feeling is persistent (I figured this would come at some point in the career but I am not even 30 yet.) So mainly, I am coming for your feedback as I contemplate what other options there are for me if I leave the industry out there where I can still have a comfortable living and get all the joys out of cooking, while finding a way to minimize the stress of the industry. I am looking