Making Tuiles

Discussion in 'Pastries & Baking' started by 84rhonda, Jan 24, 2002.

1. 84rhonda

84rhonda

Hello everyone. I've been recently interested in Advanced dessert techniques and "showplating". One of the skills requires making TUILES and "bending" them into creative shapes etc..I'm no professional chef by any means, but i love to dabble in the kitchen. But I'm really struggling with making these tuiles. Any hints or helps would be appreciated. For example, i followed the tuile recipe from Le Cordon Bleu cookbook, it says to cook the tuiles into lightly yellow, then take them out and bend them. Problem is my tuiles crack and set way too fast. What am i doing wrong?

After a few trial and errors, I tried bending the shapes while they were still in the oven, but it gets quite hot in there. This seemed to work, but evey book I've read said you should be able to bend the TUILES outside the oven. :confused:

2. suzanne

suzanne

Exp:
    Food Editor
    You've got to work very, very fast, and not be afraid of burning your fingertips. It might help if you try to mold the tuiles around something, like a can, or or cup, or a pair of chopsticks, and not just try to shape them all by hand, if that's what you're trying. Finally, sometimes you can put the tuiles back in the oven for a few seconds to soften if they get too hard, too quickly. But to be able to do that, you have to not overcook them in the first place (which was my problem when I first started making them).

3. marmalady

marmalady

Exp:
    Professional Caterer
    I just want to know how to pronounce it - then I'll try making them!:D

4. momoreg

momoreg

Exp:
    Professional Pastry Chef
    Tuiles are pronounced like "wheels" with a T at the beginning.