"Magic" chocolate ball dessert help!

Discussion in 'Professional Pastry Chefs' started by KeriRivera, Feb 10, 2018.

1. KeriRivera

KeriRivera

Exp:
    Professional Pastry Chef of 7 years
    Hello all :) I'm new to this forum (and this website). I'm a professional pastry chef looking for some advice. My boss is obsessed with those trendy chocolate sphere desserts. I'm currently trying to produce some to put on our menu but for every 5 produced I only seem to get 1 to release cleanly from the mold without cracking or breaking. My chocolate is tempered properly I just want to know if any chefs have experience doing this and if they have some tips. I've tried to explain this to my boss (as he just wants me to produce produce produce) but alas he doesn't understand how pastry/baking can be so finicky.

Have a sweet day!
    KR

2. chefwriter

chefwriter

Exp:
    Professional Cook
    I have no experience with chocolate and baking, etc. but so your post doesn't get lost down the rabbit hole, I'll try. Hopefully one of the experienced pastry chefs will come on and answer.
    Can you make the walls of the sphere thicker? Is it better to chill or freeze the mold so the chocolate comes out easier? What about oiling the mold before the chocolate goes in?
    Okay, I think that's all I've got. What about having the boss help you? Let him experience the chocolate production first hand.

3. sgmchef

sgmchef

Exp:
    Retired Chef
    Be different!

Make a three sided Pyramid shape. Then your building materials are fabricated from a uniform sheet of Chocolate, at least...

I'm just a chef, not a Pastry chef. Someone that does know the answer will come along.

4. Pat Pat

Pat Pat

Exp:
    Chef Emeritus
    This video should give you peace. It's the same for everyone.

5. chefpeon

chefpeon Kitchen Dork

Exp:
    Professional Pastry Chef 27 years
    OK, I watched part of the video Pat Pat posted, and here are my tips: