Mac Professional vs Yaxell Ran

Joined Apr 24, 2017
Hello all,
I have come seeking your experiences, advice and expertise.

I have used both brands of chef knives (8") breifly and found them both a pleasure to use over what I am using now. I am looking at purchasing an 8" chef or santoku.

I work in a professional kitchen and would say I am intermediate to advanced with my knife skills. I am also able to care for my own knives, though I am not an expert by any means, also I am left handed.

I am looking at these two knife brands because of the positive reviews I have read. Most of it says they are relatively easy to care for, good quality, retain an edge well and are durable enough to hold up in a kitchen.

So what would your preference be and why?

Thanks!

phatch

Staff member
Joined Mar 29, 2002
I just bought a Mac santoku for my daughter. It arrived today. I went with Mac because they are good but also less expensive. I didn't want to commit to something that may not be to her long term taste or style as she grows as a cook. Which is not your specific problem.

She's a little short and lacks power. These combine at the counter to complicate using larger knives. Although larger knives do have other advantages even for shorter people.
She thought a santoku sounded like a good solution for her right now.

Joined Sep 26, 2017
I prefer the 'Original' and the 'Superior' series over the 'Professional' series; I find them easier to sharpen and more nimble. Never used Yaxell so no comment on that.

Joined May 29, 2013
For a professional chef, between the Mac Professional and the Yaxell Ran, and if I were looking for a basic knife, it would not be either. I would instead choose the MAC BK-100, a "Chef Series" 10 inch blade.

The Yaxell Ran is a Damascus blade. If only because restoring the appearance is such Royal Pain in the (expletive deleted), I would never buy it. The Yaxell Mon is a three-layer knife, and much more honest in its use (as well as MUCH cheaper).