Looking to start my own Gourmet Food Shop - HELP!

Joined Aug 20, 2001
Hi Everyone,
I work as a freelance food stylist for mags and tv in NYC. I moved to upstate, NY a year ago and would really like to stop the commute to NYC and settle in my area with my own food shop. Can anyone give me a few hints on the best way to go about this? I've contacted several realtors and when I say food shop, they hear restaurant. I don't want a restaurant -- just a little gourmet take-out place.
What is the best way to go about finding a space? Realtors haven't been much help to me. Is there a website that any of you know of that would help with a ton of questions that I have? I live in the Hudson Valley in New York.
Many thanks.
Mo

Joined Jan 1, 2001
Hi Mo! Glad to have another food stylist aboard. What a great ambition you have! I've spent some years in the world of specialty foods and it can be a really fun business. The best place I have found to get fundamental info about this arena is the NASFT (National Association for the Specialty Food Trade) show which concluded in NYC last month. There are other shows on the west coast in Jan. or Feb. and Chicago (though smaller in scope) in the spring. The workshops are very informative. There is also a trade magazine which can be very helpful. Check out their website-www.nasft.com (maybe org.)

Joined Jan 1, 2001
Hi Mo! Glad to have another food stylist aboard. What a great ambition you have! I've spent some years in the world of specialty foods and it can be a really fun business. The best place I have found to get fundamental info about this arena is the NASFT (National Association for the Specialty Food Trade) show which concluded in NYC last month. There are other shows on the west coast in Jan. or Feb. and Chicago (though smaller in scope) in the spring. The workshops are very informative. There is also a trade magazine which can be very helpful. Check out their website-www.nasft.com (maybe org.)

Joined Aug 20, 2001
Hi,