Looking to buy high quality knives for prep work, need advice

Joined May 20, 2018
So, being frank, i'm new to this game. I've spent my last few years doing a job that has absolutely nothing to do with cooking, but decided to make the switch and loving ever second of it.

That being said, i know nothing of good knives or what an appropriate set would be like, i ended up just buying a set from Costco for personal use that had decent reviews due to it not being my profession at the time (this was about 5 years ago). Now that I've finally moved into the cooking industry, i'm attempting to start out right.

While i don't mind the German style knives, i tend to lean towards wanting to use Japanese style knives as i think the flatter profile of the edge might be more to my liking and chopping habits, that being said, i haven't used them before.

My daily work consists mainly of Veg prep with some side work (cutting lettuce, chopping parsley, slicing bread for croutons, cutting Turkey breasts for portioning and similar tasks)

Price tag wise I'm not looking to skimp, but id like to keep the total at $500 or less if possible to start. I don't want to get stupid and buy a kitchen full of knives when I'm simply doing prep work, but id like to start out right and add when i get the ability to.

Any advice on Brands/manufacturers and what type of knives you think would be useful for this type of work would be greatly appreciated along with any additional tips you might have.

Joined Nov 15, 2012
If in the States you could also look at JKI stainless series, significantly less money than Misono 440, probably on par in every other way.

In both cases I think you will want to round the choil and spine near the handle with sandpaper.

Last edited:
Joined Oct 9, 2008
Knives: my only question is why 240 chef's? I'd have thought it best to go 270 for a professional kitchen. Maybe I'm wrong?