Looking for advice on buying a Gyuto in Tokyo.

Discussion in 'Cooking Knife Reviews' started by brulo, Mar 1, 2018.

1. brulo

brulo

Exp:
    Cooking School
    Hi all!

So, I have a friend travelling to Tokyo and looks like I'll manage to convince him on getting me a knife :)

I would like some advice on brands or makers, and places to get it.

I don't want or need the most expensive one, but one I feel was worth the effort from my friend of carrying it halfway around the world.

Also, extra points if I can pay for it online and just get my friend to pick it up or get it delivered to his airbnb, since he's not into cooking and probably won't be all that excited to walk around a knife market.

Thanks in advance everyone! :D

2. aliphares

aliphares

Exp:
    Home cook
    I'm not an expert but from what I've read, ordering online (even from Japan) would defeat the point of getting one from there. Generally speaking, they're cheaper to buy directly from there than from a shop outside or online diue to the lack of distribution abroad. And since these are the prices we're used to, Japanese sites will jack up the prices too. This difference is much more significant with smaller makers as well, more than the big names like masamoto or misono (but you'll still get a small difference there, too)
    For the smaller brands and makers, some who don't even sell knives online or outside of Japan, you're going to have to physically look for them. There's a lot of articles about the Knife Market in Tokyo. The street is called Kappabashi-dori or just Kappabashi. It's almost exclusively cutlery and kitchen supply stores. Read up on different stores and hidden gems, I can't help with specifics I'm afraid.

3. brulo

brulo

Exp:
    Cooking School
    Thanks a lot! Giving the name of the street and the advice on going in person it's a huge help!

I'll talk to my friend and see if he's willing to do that.