Looking for a Japanese Knife

Discussion in 'Cooking Knife Reviews' started by bhwtt, Dec 10, 2012.

1. bhwtt

bhwtt

Exp:
    Home Chef
    Hi folks. I've spent the last few weeks reading a lot of  postings on this forum, and thought it was time to make my own.

I'm searching for a Japanese chef's knife that is best suited for me, and would appreciate any input, recommendations, etc..

Knife Skills---average to good, but no expert

Sharpening Skills--none, but willing to learn. Indeed, that is part of the appeal of buying a good knife.

Aesthetics--not my primary concern, but an important consideration.

Handle--no experience with "wa" handles, though not averse to trying a knife with one

Current Knives--Henckels: 8" chef, boning and paring

Budget--$250-300

Some knives I"ve been considering:

Konosuke HD/HH Wa-Gyuto

Kanehiro Wa-Gyuto 

Masakage Koishe Wa-Gyuto and/or Petty

MAC Pro

I'm an avid home cook and work part time as a line cook, though the knife will be used exclusively at home.

I trust this is enough information to get started, if not, ask away and I'll try to answer any of your queries.

bhwtt

2. rdm magic

rdm magic

Exp:
    Culinary Student
    Is your 250-300 budget including sharpening equipment?

Personally, as a first J-knife, I'd stay away from lasers, unless you specifically want one. You won't be able to bring the best out of it without good sharpening skills, and from what I hear great knife skills.

I know the MAC Pros were highly recommended - but, I think that since the last price raise there is better knives for the cash. I'm not sure what these knives are, just that I've heard that said.

What length are you looking for?

3. bhwtt

bhwtt

Exp:
    Home Chef
    Thanks for the prompt reply rdm magic.

The budget of $250-300 is for the knife only.  I was thinking that a 240mm chef's knife would be in order, given I currently have two 8" chef knives.