Looking for a Gyuto

Discussion in 'Cooking Knife Reviews' started by redcomet219, Dec 25, 2015.

1. redcomet219

redcomet219

Exp:
    At home cook
    Hi everyone!

I've been a longtime reader at the forum but this is my first post. I'm interested in getting a quality Gyuto but there are just so many options out there. I've done some research and so far this is what I know:

Length

210-240mm (It looks like 240 is the way to go)

Blade

I am new to sharpening, but I am also worried about the knife rusting. I think stainless steel?

Symmetry

I'm a lefty so a Symmetric blade would be preffered.

Handle

Wa Style

Use

I am looking for an all purpose knife. Something for chopping, filleting, sushi cutting, and garnish detail work.

Price

$175 - $275

All in all I am looking for a high quality knife that I can take care of and hone my cooking skills with. Aesthetically - I really like the traditional Japanese looking Gyutos. I'm intrigued by the one's with hammering on the top of the knife but wondering how that affects cuts?

I'm not very good at following the technical stuff such as hardness / layering / etc. Really just looking for someone to help point me towards a few well received options that meet at least  some of the above criteria.

I really appreciate any feedback you guys have!

John

2. millionsknives

millionsknives

Exp:
    Professional Caterer
    Hammering is just cosmetic, it doesn't affect performance. 

This is out of stock, but they come in stock pretty often.  Call Jon about details.  I vaguely remember the next shipment coming in early January.

http://www.japaneseknifeimports.com...oducts/gesshin-uraku-240mm-stainless-wa-gyuto

Not too thick or thin, not too soft or hard for beginners.  Stainless, wa handle,  free shipping,  and you can ask Jon to sharpen it before shipping.  Kind of checks off all your boxes I think.  If you have extra money, spend it on sharpening stones.

3. millionsknives

millionsknives

Exp:
    Professional Caterer