lookinf for all the advice i can get....

Discussion in 'New User Introductions' started by mase, Feb 26, 2010.

1. mase

mase

Exp:
    Culinary Student

Hello to all my new culinary friends. both to the rookie like myself, and to the vets of our business. i look forward to to hearing all the input from everyone. i have a few questions to start. i am currently a culinary student in Vancouver Washington, and i landed a line cook position at Newport bay and i start on saturday night, i go in for an orientation tomorrow. im super nervous because even though i am  student, i have never worked a line before. i will be on the fryer, but im still a little sketch. i have worked for a catering company for almost a year, but like i said i have never worked the line... any ways if any body has any advice to calm my nerves i thank you much...what should i expect on "the line?" what is the hardest part of working the line, and how do i keep from lettin the tickets pile up... i need all the help i can get, i am confinent in myself, but the line is alil intimidating. ne ways i look forward to your replys /img/vbsmilies/smilies/peace.gif

2. jim berman

jim berman

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    First off, Welcome to ChefTalk. We are a friendly lot, so feel free to ask away. Be sure to stop by the Culinary Students' forum to check out some of the experiences that fellow students are discussing. 
    As for getting over the jitters... well... don't! That nervous energy is wonderful. It can be a motivator and steadfast guide in days when things are a bit more challenging than usual.
    Again, welcome aboard and I look forward to learning more of your adventures in the field.

3. bughut

bughut

Exp:
    Professional Chef