Longish term review of Yoshihiro Aoko Gyuto

Discussion in 'Cooking Knife Reviews' started by tastytaco, Oct 10, 2017.

1. tastytaco

tastytaco

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    Hello all,
    A few months ago I came here looking for advice and I got quite a bit of quality information. Thank you for that. So when I chose a knife I knew I would be happy with it. The knife I chose was an Amazon purchase for the Yoshihiro Aoko blue steel knife. I will go over some initial thoughts and a little deeper as I have been using this knife for quite a few hours a day for a couple of months now. I will not be posting links, sorry, this site just doesn't care for them sometimes. I can take specific measurements at another time as it is currently unavailable.

Initial impressions are that the knife is an eye-catcher. The hammered and sand-blasted finish look wonderful. Made in Japan. Happy packaging and a booklet of lots of knives I can't afford came along with the knife. The knife is very light. The carbon-stainless sandwich looks fantastic. This is coming from someone that has quite a bit of German workhorse experience. Also that the knife feels much smaller than it's 210mm would seem. Which isn't big by any means, it just feels immediately nimble. Edge is decent, I feel that I can get a equal or better edge myself, if I have the time.