Chef Forum banner

Long time favorite icing recipe

2K views 5 replies 3 participants last post by  Jain Daugh 
#1 ·
I have been using an icing recipe for over 60 years. Its a family and friend favorite that gets recipe requests from those who taste it for the first time. I've put it on cakes that I took to office birthday celebrations and had it used on a few home made wedding cakes too. I thought I would share it here just to see if its used and liked beyond my immediate circle of folks.

This recipe came out of a (horrors!) early 1950s Crisco (giveaway) cookbook. The page it is one is so very splattered with 'ingredients' that its almost not readable and probably would taste like stale icing! -

CREAMY FRENCH ICING

Boil together for a few minutes -

2 Tablespoons water
4 1/2 Tablespoons granulated sugar

Mix in [stand mixer] bowl -

2 1/3 cups sifted confectioners sugar
1 egg

Blend in sirup [made above] and add -

2/3 cup Crisco
1 teaspoon vanilla

Beat until creamy

That is the original text except for my clarifying [ ] additions. I have over time re written this to include gm weight for the powdered sugar (300 gm.) and I have also used butter and coconut oil in place of (usually part of) the shortening. This recipe will ice a regular small layer cake, but I generally like to be more generous with icing so have developed a one-half-again version that I usually use. It remain 'soft', moist and not crusty for a couple of days, (if cake last that long). I have made it to add to smaller (frozen) cakes as they are eaten, it stays nice in a glass container in a refrigerator for a week+. I have added different flavors (lemon extract) and prefer more vanilla that the recipe calls for. Have fun with this and hope you enjoy it too.

See less See more
#3 ·