Line pirate looking for a career

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by denver_ryan, Jan 28, 2010.

1. denver_ryan

denver_ryan

Exp:
    Line Cook
    Ive been on the line for going on 6 years. I graduated film school right as the writer strike happened and couldn't get a job that paid more then $75 a day (14 hour days on set). So I got a job as a dishwasher in a well known nightclub in Hollywood. I moved my way onto the line after a cook called in 'sick'. I found my passion.

Since then I have catered private events for celebrity charities, done a St. Patricks Day weekend at an Irish pub (we actually slept in the kitchen and worked 12 hours for 3 days), and have been on a tv show with Coolio for his cooking show (what a travisty).

What Im getting at is what steps do I need to do to get 'off' the line and work my way up. I know I'm relatively new in kitchen standards, but how does one become a chef, sous chef or kitchen manager without any culinary schooling. Is it realistic that I will stop being a grunt and actually command a crew of my own? I have the chops and the desire but not all the know-how.

2. xjmrufinix

xjmrufinix

Exp:
    Sous Chef
    I am Sous Chef of a kitchen where I started off making salads and washing dishes, and haven't had the time or means to cut back my hours and go to school, so it is certainly possible. I just worked really hard at whatever need to be done, however lowly it may have been, and made it a point to watch *everything* which went on around me. If I saw a dish made, I would ask everyone I could how they made it to get different perspectives. I volunteered for work I wasn't getting paid to do just for the experience. I researched the curriculums of culinary schools, bought the textbooks and worked through them in my free time.