Life as a new line cook

Joined Oct 25, 2016
I'm not sure how many of you read my introduction post but I am going to assume you have read it. This is a new thread for those like myself who are in need of some tips adjusting to working on the line. Being that I am a culinary arts student I know that does not make me full of knowledge at this stage in my career. But I started as a dishwasher at Grand Lux Cafe / Cheesecake Factory and I managed to stand out and work my way up as a line cook. I started out working pasta and after training was done I had switched over to fry station, and also bread and soup.

Since I study all aspects of culinary I do have a good understanding of how to be a cook. If any of you know Cheesecake Factory; you will know that this is one incredibly busy restaurant. The part I'm getting to is that I am stuck in between proving that I can work a station on the line. I find myself not being "me" while trying to learn how to adapt to a new part of my career.

I can briefly say the issues I am concerned with at each specified station.

Pasta

The pasta station can be overwhelming if you don't know the recipes and cooking procedures for each dish. This is known as one of their "money stations" so the food costs and order tickets are large in numbers.
  • The food being presented properly and in a timely fashion.
  • Knowing recipes off the top of your head and visually knowing ounces without scaling.
  • Working 5 different pans at the same time to get the orders out.
  • Timing an items cook time.
  • Going to the back and restocking as the station gets low.
Fry

In my opinion fry is not as bad as it looks. This station gets the most orders next to the salad station.
  • Memorizing the plating for each dish.
  • Remembering the different flours used for each item.
  • Timing an items cook time.
  • Going to the back and restocking as the station gets low.
Bread / Soups