Learning to taste and developing a palate

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by someday, Apr 17, 2005.

1. someday

someday

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    Any advice on how to learn about developing my palate so that I can balance flavors better and recognize ingredients in dishes and sauces better?

I can do it somewhat, but I was just wondering if there were any techniques I can do that will help train it...or is it more of a question of experience?

~Someday

2. mezzaluna

mezzaluna

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    I'm a long-time home cook. I think I've developed a pretty good palate with Western and some Asian cuisines, but I'm trying to do the same thing you are with Indian/South Asian cooking. Here's what I'm doing about it:

1. Hang out here! Read, use the search button to find older discussions, and ask concise questions.
    2. I'm lucky to have a Penzey's Spices store nearby. I went there and spent a long time with a knowledgeable spice merchant.
    3. I'm shopping for cookbooks. My top choice right now is Suvir Saran's cookbook.
    4. COOK. Taste, adjust, ask more questions.
    5. I'm also visiting a couple of good Indian restaurants in the area to learn the spice and flavor palettes of the cuisine.
    6. I'm retiring soon, and plan to take cooking classes as the opportunities present themselves. This cuisine is tops on my list.

For me, this will work. Give some thought to the best way you learn and do your own exploring. I'm sure the professionals will have great insights to add to the comments of an enthusiastic amateur.

Good luck!

3. anneke

anneke

Exp:
    Culinary Instructor
    Read Culinary Artistry by the Dornenbergs.