Learning techniques and ingredients

Discussion in 'Cookbook Reviews' started by Serous4077, Sep 3, 2018.

1. Serous4077

Serous4077

Exp:
    Home cook
    Hello, all. I'm an amateur home cook that's looking for a book to help with learning how to use food as opposed to a book of recipes. I've looked up some threads with similar questions; many were pretty old, and I wanted to ask for exactly what I was going for. I want to learn about how to use different ingredients and cooking techniques. For example, if I have chicken breast I'd like to know all the different cooking methods for it, and how to do it without looking up temperatures, cooking times, etc.

I have the book "Salt Fat Acid Heat" by Samin Nosrat, and I love it. That's the kind of thing I want, where it teaches concepts instead of recipes, but I'm hoping for something a little more far-ranging. My goal is being able to walk into a kitchen, see what I have, and know how to use it without looking up a recipe. What do you think would get me closest to what I'm looking for?

Thanks!

2. phatch

phatch Moderator Staff Member

Exp:
    I Just Like Food
    • Essentials of Cooking James Peterson - because it's my favorite discussion of technique from a beginner stand point. Fairly technique oriented.
    • New Complete Techniques Jacques Pepin - a picture guide book. Look at this first before buying. It may not be what you want, but is educational. Technique skill oriented.
    • The Complete Meat Cookbook Bruce Aidells - gets toward what you want for animal flesh but is more Western in it's approach. If Asian or Middle Eastern flavors are what you want skip this. Recipe oriented.
    • Vegetables Revised James Peterson - is the most complete option for vegetables from a Westernized approach. Recipe oriented
    • Modernist Cuisine Nathan Myrhvold, 5 book set, - a science based approach to food and cooking. Recipe oriented but lots of explanation along the way.