Kugelhopf

Discussion in 'Pastries & Baking' started by pongi, Nov 29, 2002.

1. pongi

pongi

I recently got as a present from my hubby (coming back from Alsace) a nice Kugelhopf mold with his lid, and want to try it!
    I have found, both in my books and online, many recipes which seem basically the same but differ on a point: the procedure to make the dough.
    Some of them say you have to make a first dough with the yeast and some flour and sugar, leave it rising, add the other ingredients to make a second dough, leave it rising again, put it into the mold and when grown up put it in the oven. Others just say to make a single dough with all the ingredients and to put it in the mold when risen. Since I have no experience of those types of dough, which method do you think is the best? And which yeast would you recommend to a homecook like me? I'm using a dry brewer's yeast, is it correct?

I also have another question. My father's nanny used to make a cake she called "Gugelhupf" which looked about the same but had a different taste and texture. According to the recipe it was more something like a Ciambella or a Plumcake: it didn't call for natural yeast and a long time rising, but for baking powder and whisked egg whites into the dough. Since she came from a mountain village close to Sudtirol, do you think it could be an Austrian version of the cake?

Thanks for your help,

Pongi

2. isa

isa

First I should tell you I’ve never made a Gugelhupf, Kougloff or Kugelhopf. It’s one of those thing I keep telling myself I have to try, that is why I was so intrigued by your question and decided to look it up. Here’s what I found:

There is an Austrian Gugelhupf, here is what I found in Rick Rodgers’ Kaffeehaus:

Keeping up the tradition of quaint Viennese culinary tales, some source say that the Gugelhupf’s design was modelled after the fold in a Turk’s turban; thus eating a turban-shaped cake showed hatred for the enemy.