Kokopuffs a sharpening question

Discussion in 'Cooking Equipment Reviews' started by headmanbrewing, Jul 9, 2002.

1. headmanbrewing

headmanbrewing

I was wondering what your recommendations would be on using either a rod system (Lansky, etc.) or a clamp on knife guide. I don't have the steadiest hands, and I have a problem maintaining a consistent angle when using a regular stone. I have seen your posts on what type of stone to use, and am looking for ideas to make the time I have to sharpen my knives more efficient. Thank you.

Scott

2. kokopuffs

kokopuffs

Exp:
    Home Cook
    Sharpening each of my chefs knives takes no more than 5 minutes - using a stone. I suggest that you search further into the forum. Other members have posted valuable information pertaining to the "rod" and clamp style sharpening system of which I have no experience.

3. phatch

phatch Moderator Staff Member

Exp:
    I Just Like Food
    Look for the Spyderco Sharpmaker. The Lansky and other clamp and guide systems really can't handle the long knives, cleavers or do as well on serrations as the Sharpmaker.

http://www.bladeforums.com/features/faqsharp.shtml will teach you lots of good things about sharpening a knife.

Phil

4. catciao

catciao

Aaaaaggghhhhh - my husband put a chip/dent in my Henckles chef knife!!:cry: He said he cut something on a ceramic plate and it chipped. The knife was laying on the cutting board and I spotted it from across the kitchen. I've been using my rod to sharpen but how do I get rid of the dent? Please help!:(

5. panini

panini

Exp:
    Owner/Operator
    Dent,
    Grab the knife in your right hand. Call your husband and chase him around swinging it and put a few matching dents in it. Then when all is clear go to the 5-10 store and buy him a plastic french knife and tell him this is yours.
    I'm wondering if I'm different, but my knives are off limit to the world. Not my working knives but my personal home knives.

6. phatch

Exp: