Knives...lets get started.....

Discussion in 'Cooking Knife Reviews' started by mojak, Dec 18, 2015.

1. mojak

mojak

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    Seems like this is a good place to start. At nearly 60 I've been cooking for roughly 44 years. As the story goes Pops died Mom went to work and I went into the kitchen at the tender age of 16. I've gotten quite a bit figured out since then. BTW, Mom was the largest caterer in Sacramento, Ca for around 25 years. At age 18 I was offered a full ride to New York Cullinary Institute, however I declined the offer. At that point I was engaged in experimentation and discovery of recipes for mom. Proofing recipes that looked interesting and coming up with a few of my own. So moving forward. I've ways enjoyed cooking and the tools used to do so. Knives of course are a focal point for the cook. I've read a fair bit here on this forum, enough to know Shun are generally frowned upon and not held in very high regard. I'm just coming off of a set of Shun Kramers which aside from the fact they were right handers, I'm a lefty, I liked quite a bit in terms of performance. After about a year into using them I realized I started to like them less and less because of the right handed D configuration. I've owned them for around 5 years now and I just bought the Kajis as replacement for the neutral grip. The Kramers go to my right handed girlfriend. It's an 11 piece set and I didn't pay much for them. 9 knives around $75 per knife plus the block and Steel. I am interested in contrasting the Shuns I just bought with knives that will essentially be recommendations of forum members. A chefs, paring, Santoku and and one other to be decided,so 4 knives. The knives selected with the exception of the chefs knife may be modified depending on recommendations. I also have a sharpening stone set up that I would like some input on. Pic below: