Knives for Wedding Registry

Joined Feb 1, 2017
I'm listing knives on my wedding registry and I’m looking for some opinions on my selections.

Right now, I have an old set of Chicago Cutlery from Wal-Mart, so I'm sure any of these are an improvement.  Profile-wise I'm just a home chef, but more enthusiastic about it than most.

Ideally, any knives I choose could be found at Sur la Table/Crate&Barrel/Amazon.  

These are the knives I currently have in mind:
  • 8-inch Chef's - Bob Kramer Meiji ($250)
  • 4-inch Paring - Bob Kramer Meiji ($150)
  • 6-inch Boning Knife - Victorinox Fibrox Pro w/ Flexible Blade ($31)
  • Bread Knife - Mac SB-105 ($75)
  • Slicing Knife - Victorinox 12-in Granton Fibrox ($61)
Now I'm sure some people on here are going to shake their head at the Bob Kramers.  I spent quite a bit of time in Sur la Table and Williams Sonoma getting a feel for different Chefs knives, and the Meiji felt very comfortable to me.  It was light like the Japanese style blades, but at the same time had a more substantial feeling to it that I like.  I tried the more expensive $399 Bob Kramer and didn’t like it at all…so I don’t think I’m being blinded by Bob’s story and the shiny Damascus.  I know people like to knock on the mass-produced Kramers, but is there any reason I should think of this as a particularly bad value/inferior choice? 

The Bob Kramer paring knife was more of a defacto choice...and I'm sure you all can suggest much better paring knives.  I think I like the longer 4-inch compared to standard 3.5inch.