Knife sharpening.

Discussion in 'Cooking Knife Reviews' started by IoannisII, Feb 7, 2018.

1. IoannisII

IoannisII

Exp:
    Non
    Hello everyone.I am a home cook and I have come across a problem and I need your help.Do you have any ways of sharpening knives that you can recommend that doesn't involve stones?(I am afraid I will ruin a bunch of knives before I learn how to use the water stones)
    Thank you.

2. millionsknives

millionsknives

Exp:
    Professional Caterer
    It's a lot easier to ruin knives on other methods. What kind of knives?

benuser likes this.
  3. IoannisII

IoannisII

Exp:
    Non
    Stainless steel chef knives mostly and a filleting knife.

4. rick alan

rick alan

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    It's not the knife-type to consider, are talking about ordinary German stainless, or something like it?

5. IoannisII

IoannisII

Exp:
    Non
    They are ordinary German knives.

6. rick alan

rick alan

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    You'd have to make a completely conscious effort to ruin any knife on a stone, and with Germans that would also be a considerable effort given how thick they are at the edge, along with the general abrasion resistance of stainless. A King 300 paired with either the 800 or 1200 grits will set you back about $50, and that is all you really need. Unless you have the annoying and useless dumb ass full bolster, then a bench grinder comes in handy for removal.

Recent posts tell where the sharpening tutorials all are. It's nothing more than rubbing steel on stone.

If you still want to go another route then it would be an electric, ranging $100-150.

7. IoannisII

IoannisII

Exp:
    Non
    I actually worry that I will ruin the geometry If I happen to use the wrong angle or I will fill the blade with scratches and these two things wouldn't make me very happy.

8. rick alan

rick alan

Exp:
    Cook At Home