Knife Design for Evaluation

Discussion in 'Cooking Knife Reviews' started by Infillion, Nov 20, 2017.

1. Infillion

Infillion

Exp:
    Enthusiast
    Hello everybody,
    I am an industrial design student and I did a project with kitchen knife concept design.
    Because there are a bunch of knife enthusiasts and even real professionals on this forum I would wish to receive your feedback for the models I made. Since many of you have experience with many kinds of knives, I trust that you can say something even based on the image alone without a real hands-on exploration.

The feeback can be of any sort but of course constructive criticism is most appreciated. And yes, even though it is designed with the pinch grip in mind, the knife by no means tries to be a actual professional tool, but merely targeted for amateurs.

[​IMG]

2. chrislehrer

chrislehrer

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    There's a thick finger guard which will interfere with sharpening, if I'm seeing the photo right. I will say that they're pretty.

3. Pat Pat

Pat Pat

Exp:
    Chef Emeritus
    The handle looks uncomfortable and the sheep's foot curve just doesn't appeal to me.

The knives remind me of a very bad and uncomfortable knife I own, as pictured.

crappy knife.jpg

4. rick alan

rick alan

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    Yes you really need to lose the full bolster, and it is so exaggerated at the top it seems to me it would dig into the thumb. A santoku is a santoku and as such yours looks fine. The chef profile you show is looks ok, but it does have considerably more height than average. Your handle will likely be uncomfortable for extended use, those ribs would likely cause bruising and blisters, or just be plain uncomfortable as Pat said, but most home cooks likely would not mind.

It's a commendable design exercise in terms of appearance, but has some flaws from a funcrtional standpoint.

5. Infillion

Infillion

Exp:
    Enthusiast