Chef Forum banner

Kitchen rental

6K views 3 replies 2 participants last post by  jcakes 
#1 ·
I work for a winery and we do not have a commercial kitchen, so therefore we have to rent a space off site to cook/prepare food then bring it back to the winery to reheat. I have worked in a kitchen before, but not as a chef or line cook. I'm not a professional chef, but have been cooking since I was 13. I am a servsafe manager, and we have a catering license. I have a proposed menu for the first couple months and it is pretty fool proof. I'm just having a hard time trying to figure out logistics.

Basically I'm starting this whole operation from scratch. I have never made an inventory/par list and I have never ordered food storage containers before and just don't really know where to start or what sizes I will need. Is there any advice you would give a first time chef, or any information on how to order correct amounts of food, how to store the food items, and how to properly transfer the items from one location to another?

Any advice is welcome!

#4 ·