I've been trying to quit...

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by Jeremy Fulmer, Mar 5, 2018.

1. Jeremy Fulmer

Jeremy Fulmer

Exp:
    15+ yrs
    So,
    I've been trying to recuse myself from the culinary industry. I still love working with food. Love the smells, colors, textures, myriad flavours, and when it all comes together, finally, on the plate after everybody's hard work and contributions. The problem is multifaceted. I started late. I was 28 when I graduated culinary school and had my first job. 2nd, I have always been the guy who always had to work two or three times harder than anybody else just to keep up what is considered a normal kitchen pace. This unnatural level of speed for me has caused many problems from being perpetually in the weeds, to missing orders all together, to missing small details at times which ended up playing a crucial role in some facet of the plate, and the constant captivity to line cook positions has left my body with permanent damage from the repetitive activity which invariably plagues line cooks. To further complicate matters, I took out loans to pay for school. 15 years later, I'm still paying on these loans. No line cook job has ever even payed enough to more than scrape by. This seems like a grave injustice to pro cooks. They invest their bodies and lives to ensure expectant guests receive the best possible food and service for their money. It's especially infuriating in operations where banquet personnel make as much as $5 per hour more than the pro cooks who make it possible for them to have a banquet for them to even work. In my experience, cooks are always the redheaded step child of the f&b world. So much rides on the shoulders of the culinary department, and they are always the first dept to get blamed. It seems Maybe I should have never embarked upon this journey. Perhaps my experience is not every pro cook's experience. All that aside, I still sometimes dream of a world where every cook and chef takes p