Issues with blind baking for fully baked pie crusts

Discussion in 'Pastries & Baking' started by lolobakes, Dec 15, 2016.

1. lolobakes

lolobakes

Exp:
    Professional Baker
    Hi, 

I'm having some trouble getting my pate brisee pie crusts to come out consistent when blind baking them for fully baked pie crusts for some custard pie's we're going to be running at a new bbq joint that's opening in a few weeks. Right now i'm in the testing stage of getting my recipes and techniques locked down. I'm the baker there and this is my first time kinda being in charge of the baking, (very exciting and nerve wracking at the same time) This is the recipe that i am currently using 

1800 g AP flour

20 g salt

90 g sugar

1356 g frozen butter

672 g ice cold water

I mix the flour, sugar, and salt together, then i add the chopped frozen butter to the bowl and toss to coat the butter. Then i pulse the flour and butter in the robocoupe, about a quart and a half's worth at a time, till the butter is just slightly larger than pea size. i add the water and mix the dough by hand. lately I've been finding that I've had to add about 150 g more water to get the dough to just barely come together. its still very loose can crumbly, but squishes together if you squeeze some. 

I've been blind baking the pie shells at 425° for anywhere between 30 minutes and 45 minutes. i cant seem to get a consistent bake time for them. i have been using beans as weights and leaving them in for about 25 minutes. but even after i remove them, the bottoms of the shells are still puffing up like crazy. 

I've been chilling the unbaked pie shells in the walk in for about an hour or so. I've been kinda pressed for time, because our kitchen still isn't finished and I've been having to work out of another restaurant overnights while no ones there.

Also my crusts seem to be leaking a large about of butter during the bake, how is my recipe, should i make any changes to it?

I'd love any advice or suggestions.