Is this concept unfailable?

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by Chef Lowery, Apr 16, 2018.

1. Chef Lowery

Chef Lowery

Exp:
    Head chef
    Is this concept unfailable? I have a "dream' opportunity on my hands. Ive been offered and accepted the head chef position at the icehouse bar. It will now be bar and grill! Im tasked with the beginnings. No staff just me. Untrained bar service crew. We already have a customer base and are doing catering and events. The money is already there to be made. This cant fail. I have to cover my bases and make sure this is successful. It is my dream. Any advice guys? As a culinary professional I've vowed to stay teachable, a characteristic that i feel has helped bring me where i am. I'm open to any positive input, and appreciate it. Thank you.

2. sgsvirgil

sgsvirgil

Exp:
    Retired Owner/Operator
    Hi Chef Lowery and welcome to CT. :)

Nothing in this business is unfailable. Having said that, without any specific details about your business, its hard to give any advice.

pete likes this.
  3. pete

pete Moderator Staff Member

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    I agree, without more information its hard to give advice, but with what you have said so far, I'd say that this place is far from unfailable. Only you in the kitchen right now? Untrained bar staff? Sounds like a lot of work to make the place successful and there is a ton of work to do to lower the risk. But even then there are a million outside factors that can cause your place to fail. Not to be a downer, but you need to look at this realistically. Claiming, at the onset that this place is "unfailable" is going to hurt you. You need to constantly be on the lookout for how it can fail and do everything in power to fix those problems. The sad statistic is that over 70% of all restaurants fail so realize that you are fighting an uphill battle. One a positive note, that battle can be won, but it will take a ton of work and vigilance.