is it me or my job?

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by chefmel82, Oct 17, 2003.

1. chefmel82

chefmel82

i work in a restaurant.
    i like my chef alot but i'm incredibly bored.
    we aren't a high volume place, we're actually pretty slow.
    i started off in garde manger/pastry
    and after 2 months i started rotating through all of the stations (GM/P, Grill, Saute).
    and still i'm bored. i feel like i should quit, and move on to someplace else, but other people keep telling me to stick it out b/c it will get better. and that the chef i'm working under now knows alot of people so it'll be good for leads into other restaurants if i stay here a while. advice anyone?

2. jim berman

jim berman

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    Are you still learning? If not, then maybe it is time to move along. How have you been with this place? Maybe you have 'mastered' all the components in your field of interest. Perhaps you could ask your current chef to put a good word in for you somewhere else, in exchange for your willingness to come back in times of need.
    Keep us posted!

3. momoreg

momoreg

Exp:
    Professional Pastry Chef
    If you're comfortable doing so, perhaps you'd consider discussing your predicament with the chef. Maybe she/he can offer you some work that is more challenging.

4. mike

mike

chef mel... there are 250000 restaurants in NYC ...heck you can do whatever you want !!

5. peachcreek

peachcreek

Exp:
    Retired Chef