Is 25 to old to start cooking professionally?

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by jfresch, May 9, 2012.

1. jfresch

jfresch

Exp:
    Line Cook
    I am 25 years old and am considering attending culinary school in NYC. I have been cooking in a kitchen for the past 4 months and have really enjoyed it for the most part. I am the type of person that if I am going to do something I am going to strive to be the best I can possibly be in that respective field. I have read various comments in blogs and articles that for one to be successful in the culinary industry they should ideally start around the age of 18. Is this true?

I have also been accepted to a few law schools and am trying to decide which path to take. Cooking is a true passion of mine which has made this decision extremely difficult. Thanks for any thoughts or advice. 

2. baconator

baconator

Exp:
    Just Graduated From Culinary School
    That's a bunch of B.S.. I started culinary school two years ago (graduating on monday). I'm 34 years old and run circles around 18 and 19 year old interns we get.
    Just enjoy what you're doing and you'll do just fine.

alexalexnyc likes this.
  3. jfresch

jfresch

Exp:
    Line Cook
    Thanks! But to chefs consider age when hiring new cooks? If I were to apply for employment or stages at some of the top restaurants would I be looked over due to my age?

4. baconator

baconator

Exp:
    Just Graduated From Culinary School
    Depends on where you go, just like any other industry. I personally haven't run into it yet.

5. thetincook

thetincook

Exp:
    Line Cook
    There are a lot of big names out there that career changed late in life. eg Rick Bayless

I'll tell you this, even though it sounds really cynical. For most people, cooking makes a better hobby then it does a job.