Introducing...

Discussion in 'New User Introductions' started by maghiritza, Apr 11, 2017.

1. maghiritza

maghiritza

Exp:
    Sous Chef
    Hi there,

Im Meggie, a 24 year old cook from Amsterdam, the Netherlands. Ive been working with food since i was 14.
    Started out as a butcher as my side job on highschool. While most kids were delivering newspapers or working in the local supermarket, I was butchering up unthinkable amounts of meat. My boss thaught me a lot, knowledge wich comes in handy now i work as a cook (not sure if i can call myself a chef already).

My father is a chef for 30 years and i worked with him in a few kitchens, to do shitty chores. He worked at a steakhouse where i had to clean spare ribs and keep the grill clean. Then he worked at a Marriot Hotel, where i was supposed to do mise en place and help making fresh breads. After that he worked at a grand cafe, where I tagged along as a dishwasher, but my dad finally saw that i could do much more than just the dishes.
    Soon enough i was making appetizers, salads, steaks, desserts... finally started to feel like a cook, instead of a kid.

Since 7 years now my dad and i own a greek deli (my dad is greek). We cook all day long and our food goes in a display, wich costumers can take home. We also have some tables for people that want to eat in. We make great food, full of flavour and with beautiful fresh ingredi├źnts. But sometimes i wonder if I am really a chef? Sure i sometimes cook for 10 hours straight, since we are open from 12 till 10. Sure our food is rated one of the best in our city. Offcourse is our meatstew melt in the mouth, our vegetable dishes original and tasty and our cold appetizers delicious (all according to our many many costumers who keep coming everyday)