internships

Discussion in 'General Culinary School Discussions' started by laroux84, Oct 15, 2010.

1. laroux84

laroux84

Exp:
    Cook At Home
    i am studying to go to culinary school and i am looking towards applying to Johnson and Wales University. Now culinary school is on the expensive no doubt. i wanna know if anyone has been to culinary school especially in baking and pastry. was it worth it? really? 

also i found this guy called Farshid Hakim, he owns a patissiere and cafe in brentwood california  called La Provence. he was on tv a couple of days ago in some competition and so i looked him, called the cafe and spoke to him and he told me he gained his experience in baking and pastry in french hotels and decided to move to the U.S. 

can anyone recommend places/hotels/patissieres to learn baking and pastry??? i feel like i could still gain knowledge and experience on pastry if i worked and perfected the skill than spending over 20,000 dollars on tution and unifroms.

please help

2. jim berman

jim berman

Exp:
    Professional Chef