internship in NYC

Joined Jun 18, 2002
i'm a recent culinary grad in NYC seeking an internship.

yes, i know there are a ton of great restaurants in NYC that i can get an internship in .. but i don't wanna get stuck peeling potatoes and dicing onions for 4 months. i'm looking for something that offers a bit more responsibility and perhaps some line work. i have a little bit of experience working prep, garde manger, and pastry.

any leads would be helpful.
thanks,
melissa

Joined May 26, 2001
Dear Melissa: You're a culinary school graduate? Bravo. Let me ask you: how fast can you peel a case of potatoes, or peel and brunoise a bag of onions. Do you know how much a case of potatoes or a bag of onions contains? Can you tell us the difference among the three basic types of potatoes? How many varieties of potatoes can you name? How many members of the onion family can you name (vegetable and non-)?

If I sound a bit hard, it's because I mean to. Simply having graduated from school does not entitle you to a position of responsibility, and does not automatically qualify you for the line. Having "a little bit of experience working prep, garde manger, and pastry" won't matter much to whomever hires you because you didn't do it in HER kitchen. Any chef worthy of the title who hires you will need to see your work habits, your attitude, what level your skills are at, and how you fit into his kitchen.

You want to work somewhere where you'll get some responsibility? Apply to the best restaurants you can think of; accept whatever position they offer, no matter how "lowly." Watch and listen and ask questions and learn and work your rear off. Prove that you deserve to have responsibility. Prove that you can work fast and clean and accurately under pressure. Prove that you have a good attitude and are willing to learn to do it THEIR way.