International Hospitality Proffesionals

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by Chef_Cam, Apr 22, 2018.

1. Chef_Cam

Chef_Cam

Exp:
    15 years
    Hello all. New to this site and been a chef for 20 years. Only in Canada. Throughout Winnipeg and Toronto' GTA. I have seen many trials and tribulations throughout my career. I'm 36 now and switched careers at 32. I am now an electrician. In my trade and most all other trades I have learned about the unions and collective agreements that protect the workers and employers. The general system that a union uses is definetly an asset to workers. As I read all of these posts about everyone troubles throughout the industry I understand why things are the way they are. I want to take a minute to applaud all of you chefs and hospitality professionals for continuing your passion within the Industry. I regret my decision to become a electrician as I don't really enjoy it. I dream of the Industry on a regular basis and the Industry has formed me into the man I am today. I worked my ass off in a kitchen for 40 thoisand a year. 70 hours a week. This has become induatry standard it seems through salaried pay. Throughout the past 10 years the Induatry has exploded and there is need for a change. I have done my resarch and had many conversations to underatand what is involved in forming a union. A question is to all chefs and hospitality workers worldwide, throughout the history of the world in the grand scheme of things. Professional kitchens have only been around for 100 years don' we think it' time for our Industry to be regulated with safety and mentors throughout apprentiship? If I told you there was a way to get better pay and overall better quality if life.. all of this is possible.. any suggestions or questions

2. sgmchef

sgmchef

Exp:
    Retired Chef
    Welcome to Cheftalk Chef_Cam,

Interesting introductory topic there chef! (You may want to make a change in title from "Proffesionals to "Professionals")