industry standard for baker's salary (NYC)

Discussion in 'Professional Pastry Chefs' started by blauchner, Oct 21, 2010.

1. blauchner

blauchner

Exp:
    Professional Pastry Chef
    I work in a coffeehouse in NYC as the head baker. Actually, I am also the kitchen manager, as I am the person who deals with everything food. I do all the ordering, inventory, pricing and baking. I AM the kitchen. I know that I am grossly underpaid ($13/hr) but I have been told that if I start taking custom orders (cakes, cupcakes, pies, etc..) I can get a percentage. The same is true for the new savory options I am planning to start offering. The place has recently undergone an expansion and is doing a TON of business. I know that the foods I make are bringing in at least 60% of the profits. Here are my questions:

What is the industry standard for my position? (I have 8 yrs experience running my own catering/baking company and have worked in other high-volume bakeries)

What percentage should I ask for the savory options and for all the custom orders?

Do they have a right to keep my recipes when/if I decide to leave?

How do I approach the owners with my requests?

Any advice would be greatly appreciated. Thanks!

2. gumboots

gumboots

Exp:
    Line Cook
    Sorry, this is completely off topic because I have no answers to any of questions - but would you mind sharing the name of your establishment? I'm from New York and I'm very interested in this type of work.

3. blwilson2039

blwilson2039

Exp:
    Professional Pastry Chef
    I hope this helps. Yeah, if you're in NYC, you're underpaid. You should be getting at least $15/hr, but at your level I would say $17-18 would be more like it. But that's up to the owners. We're in a tough economy and it's not a good idea to get greedy, but you should make sure you are showing yourself to be valuable to the owners.