Chef Forum banner

Im thinking of being a personal Chef..Any Tips?

3K views 5 replies 6 participants last post by  shroomgirl 
#1 ·
Im thinking of being a personal Chef..Any Tips? And what is the average hours per day a personal chef works....Also, what is the average salary?

#3 ·
Hi Chef Bryan,
I am having the same question as you are. I found this new site called: HomecookingX.com, where you can buy/sell all the food items you want to. Pretty much like ebay, but only for food.

I wrote something about it in another post:
http://www.cheftalk.com/forums/showthread.php?t=15639

I think to be a personal chef will pay off, since the overhead is very low and people want more and more from their food. Put your menu and personal store on the site will help you to get your name out. Since they feature feedbacks and reviews for buyers and sellers, all your good deed will be noticed and recorded, which will translate to good business.

Good luck!

#5 ·
Hi Bryan,

I have been a chef for 20 years, and last year I started my own company as a private chef.

I make Ok money, but because overhead is so low, I can make a living.

I work lot! 50 hours a week. I cook 4 to 14 time a month, but I promote non-stop, almost everyday, I have to go out and create a connection with potential customers. I have develop my business the same way as I did when I had a restaurant. Think big!

I work with rental property in my area, so they can talk about me to their customers when they rent a holiday home. I made great connection with butchers, fish market stores so they reffer me customers. I have done lots of press release for the newspapers, local cable TV. And most of all, I have give my time top promote myself.

It's great, I work for ME, I have only one boss and it's my wife:):)

I can't call sick! but I can plan to be sick :):)

Ciao

Laprise

#6 ·