I'm fired...I think?

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by ouiouichef, Mar 27, 2017.

1. ouiouichef

ouiouichef

Exp:
    Culinary Student
    I'm a culinary student, almost finished and I've been working at an upscale fine dining restaurant a few days a week to get experience and learn as much as i can. I've been off the roster for 2 weeks, now what? I mean I don't mind about being unofficially fired but I'm not sure how to go about retrieving a few things I left behind from my kit and I still have their locker key. 

I've texted my head chef to double check if I'm rostered for the week and he just replied that I wasn't. I'm thinking that I'll just ask if it's ok for me to come in early one morning to grab a few things I left behind then I'll also drop off the locker key, keep it vague...

2. pete

pete Moderator Staff Member

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    Did you give them a reason to fire you?  Personally, I'd want to know why I was taken off of the schedule.  I'm not saying that you need to tell use the reason, but if you know the reason then you should say that  you are aware of why you have been fired, because that makes a difference, at least to me, in how I would handle the situation.  Either way, you have a right to any of your belongings that were left behind.

Last edited: Mar 27, 2017
  3. brianshaw

brianshaw

Exp:
    Former Chef
    Before quitting, try this line: "Will I be on the roster next week?" or "Is there a reason why I haven't been on the roster for a couple of weeks?"

Clearing out your stuff and returning the key because you are assuming that you were fired is called "quitting". Don't assume... they owe you either an explanation or clear direction.

Last edited: Mar 27, 2017
    addytheace likes this.
  4. chefbillyb

chefbillyb

Exp:
    Professional Chef