I'm a newly promoted sous chef, I can cook, but I'm not creative, HELP!

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by fizzle, Jan 25, 2019.

1. fizzle

fizzle

Exp:
    5+ years
    I'm 37 years old, I worked in kitchens and FOH since 15 years old. I loved it. Then I realized there's good money in software development and I'm good at that too, cut to 4 years ago, I'm back in a restaurant, and I get the bug again, I just love cooking. I figure out through some soul searching, this is my passion, this is what I'm gonna do with my life.

Now, here's my problem, when I realized that this is my calling, I worked in a shit kitchen, all but 2-3 cooks were complete shit, so I got outta there, got hired 4 months ago at a decent place, and since then I'm on a fast track to being sous at this joint, just because I can cook and I can lead.

Now, the problem, coming up with daily features. That's why I'm here, in this "almost sous" position I'm in right now, I'm expected to come up with SOME features, and I have, but now I'm out of ideas, because I never went to culinary school, I don't really understand flavor profiles, all these things my executive chef was working with me on, then he got fired.

SO! I come here asking for advice in creating a chefs feature nightly. My place is a high end steak and seafood house, all our steak is 30 day dry aged prime, we also have lobster tails, a handful of chicken pasta, shrimp pasta, etc etc. I can order anything I want for a chefs feature, I just don't even know where to start.

Just looking for ideas here, not recipes. Presentation also is my main concern, again I can cook anything, but I'm not creative enough to make it LOOK as amazing as it tastes....

phaedrus likes this.
  2. sgsvirgil

sgsvirgil

Exp:
    Retired Owner/Operator
    Hi and welcome to CT. :)

Here are some suggestions. Not many chicken suggestions because they've all been done to death.

Lobster bisque/Seafood bisque
    Zuppa Di Pesce (Fish soup)