Ideas for St. Patty day party food?

Joined Dec 2, 2003
'ello all,
I've recently begun having a lot of fun catering to larger groups of people. I'm just a beginning home cook, but I was able to pull off a super bowl party without a hitch. We had 15 homemade margherita pizzas, homemade guac and homemade blackbean dip. Also bbq'd some nectarines, portabellos and artichokes. All told, we served enough food for over 30 people, which was more than double the amount I had at Thanksgiving. It was such a great feeling, and gave me such a high, that I'm really looking forward to doing it again.

I'm looking for some fun and interesting twists on traditional St. Patty's Day fare. Looking for stuff that you might see traditionally see at dinner, such as corned beef or potatoes, but presented in a fun way so that you can eat it with your hands or whathaveyou.

Thanks in advance for any ideas,
Veggie

Joined Aug 29, 2000
Hmmm... let's see. Some of these may be just plain weird as I haven't actually tried them, but the flavors go together:

Reuben cups: prebaked phyllo or wonton skin cups (baked in mini-muffin pans then cooled) with the following layered in: dab of thousand island dressing or horseradish sauce, dab of sauerkraut, bits of corned beef

"Egg rolls" - sautee fresh shredded cabbage and onion, add shredded corned beef, roll in egg roll skin and fry or bake.

Smoked salmon is very Irish. Pipe a pate of it onto cucumber slices or toast rounds, garnish with capers or dill

Scones!!!

Chicken and leek pie (recipe here) made into little tarts rather than a large pie

That last will take you to RecipeSource, which has more Irish recipes you can adapt for bite-sized foods.

Good luck!:bounce:

Joined Dec 23, 2003
Here's something I just thought of.

Irish Pizza. Start with a raw crust, then a basic cream sauce, then sprinkle with cooked corn beef, blanched cabbage, and a little shredded dubliner cheddar. I'm salivating just thinking about it.