I think I'm done - Burned Out Chef

Joined Oct 10, 2017
Hey guys.

I'm here post-shift, just to rant and get it out, I'll probably delete this.

I think I'm close to dying from stress.

I love this profession, but it's becoming fruitless for me.

I've been a chef for 9 or so years, never trained, just thrown in here and there.

So many jobs, 12 to be precise.

I'm actually a musician and a pretty decent one at that, no brag.

I'm a head chef now... Of a takeaway.. With no staff... I'm also a chef in the kitchen above mine, their staff quit en mass.

I'm a chef with a shiny sticker.
I'm a chef with chest pain.
I'm a chef with substance abuse problems.
I'm a chef with no real friends.
I'm a chef who is poor.
I'm a chef who is hungry but cannot eat.
I'm a chef one step above homeless.
I'm a chef unsure if he'll be paid.
I'm a chef who's sick of incompetence's affects.

I don't want to be here anymore.

Joined Mar 1, 2017
You get one life to live, my friend and its too short to spend miserable. If the food industry does not smile upon you, that does not mean that you can no longer experience the joy of food or cooking. You are never too old to change the things in your life that make you unhappy.

Im retired. Sold my restaurant after 40+ years in the business. I still cook every day and I love the hell out of it. I can finally cook for myself and my wonderful wife and anyone else who has a bottle of wine and an appetite.

Anything good that ever happened to me in my life or career happened because I made it happen. There is no reason why this would not apply to you.

Your first step is taking care of your substance abuse problems.

Good luck to you. :)

Joined May 3, 2018
First post here as I just signed up, and, being my first time to the forums this was the first post I saw.

I can say it gets better, but it may not. I can say it gets easier, but it may not. The one thing I can say is this.