I realize I'm doing things a bit bass ackwards

Discussion in 'New User Introductions' started by ricib, Jul 14, 2005.

1. ricib

ricib

but I figured practically everyone else has introduced themselves, so why not me? Even if I have posted more than a few times already.

First, my nickname contains my actual first name. But, I usually just don't mind being called ricib (pronounced ricky bee, not rice ib as my brother calls me).

Ok, so formalities out of the way. I have plenty of experience in the kitchen, both at home and on the job. The first cookbook I ever recieved was when I was 8 y.o. "For Kids who cook" or something like that. I didnt' know what to do first, so i picked something easy, or so I thought. Apple turnovers. Imagine my surprise when they turned out pretty darned decent. I haven't stoppped baking since, which is my first love. (though there is that beautiful latin girl I have known all my life, she's pretty hot, so she might be my actual first love).

My first job ever was in a community college cafe cough cough years ago. Let's just say mid 80's. My most recent and one I just left was at a fine dining establishment near my home in St. Louis, where it was an Italian Restaurant, but with a French Chef running the kitchen. Figure that one out, and get back to me.

We had everything on the menu from fries, to fried fried shrimp and even Crevettes. White sauce, mushroom sauce, lobster bisque and Escoff. sauce. (I can make it but can't spell it, hehe). Frog legs to Lobster and everything Italian, with some French additions.

The Chef himself is/was a great teacher to me personally, and I'm proud to have learned anything along side of him.