I need some opinions from Restaurant owners, Chefs, or Caterers.

Discussion in 'The Late Night Cafe (off-topic)' started by Gallagher, Nov 14, 2017 at 12:45 AM.

1. Gallagher

Gallagher

Exp:
    Owner of GG&T.
    Let me make it very clear from the start, I am not trying to sell anything at all on! I just need the opinion of some of you. :)
    I started growing Baby Ginger, and Turmeric this year. I want to sell my crops to restaurants, or caterers. But I can't find anything on the internet about how to approach them, and what I do find says "to talk to locale restaurants in person". But the closest would be well over 60 miles from me, and Kansas doesn't have very many places interested in things like Baby ginger.
    I have sent out quite a few emails to places asking if they would be interested, and have gotten nothing back.
    Any help would be wonderful, I am new to selling products like this, and marketing isn't easy.
    Thank you. :)

2. desdinova

desdinova

Exp:
    Owner/Operator
    Try to find a CoOp or FoodHub of some sort. Not sure where they are, but as example we have one and many local growers use them as sort of an agent. If I need "local" food, I just go to their website and look it up.

Gallagher likes this.
  3. Gallagher

Gallagher

Exp:
    Owner of GG&T.
    Thanks! I will look it up. :)

4. Pat Pat

Pat Pat

Exp:
    Chef Emeritus
    What do you do with a baby ginger?

5. Gallagher

Gallagher

Exp:
    Owner of GG&T.
    You use it in anything where you would use fresh ginger. It is used a lot in Indian, and Asian food. Mature ginger has a very thick fibrous skin, and the "Meat" of the ginger is also fibrous making it only good for grating or grinding dry into powder. Baby ginger is the same plant but harvested immaturely, before any of the fibers develop. It doesn't even need to be peeled, just wash it well and it is ready to use!
    If you Google search it there are lots of articles about it. :)

6. Pat Pat

Pat Pat

Exp: