I need help with the business side of cooking.

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by thaooaishat, Sep 10, 2013.

1. thaooaishat

thaooaishat

Exp:
    Home Cook
    Hello, I within the past month and a half I had friends over for dinner and prepared a wonderful vegan meal. As a result they would like me to prepare vegan meals for them, 2 lunches and 2 dinners with the occasional dessert. This is so exciting for me but brand new for both of us. I have a passion for cooking and good quality food, I haven't gone to culinary school but I am an experienced cook. Because I have never done anything like this before I don't know what my title would be, I am unsure of what an hourly rate is best etc. I was thinking of $20 an hour. I am sure there are threads with the answer to my question but I just wanted to put it out there. I am feeling blessed for this opportunity and just want to approach it the best way.

2. mikeswoods

mikeswoods

Exp:
    Professional Caterer
    That is a wonderful compliment to your cooking----

However,I think that you will find that as a 'business' you are not ready.

With only 2 customers you must divide your labor and over head by those two customers---

That's going to be to pricy for even wealthy people----Now if you could come up with 30 or 40 customers---your cooking time will be similar,but divided by 30 or 40---much more likely to work.

Most caterers have a minimum sized group that is practical to service.

labor----materials----overhead and profit--equals selling price---

3. petemccracken

petemccracken

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    Have to disagree with MikesWoods, personal chef work can be very profitable with 5-10 clients, give Candy Wallace, Executive Director

American Personal & Private Chef Association
    4572 Delaware Street San Diego, CA 92116
    Tel: 800-644-8389 / 619-294-2436
    Email: [email protected]

a call or email.

4. mikeswoods

mikeswoods

Exp:
    Professional Caterer