I need help making better meatballs.

Discussion in 'Food & Cooking' started by bakergurl6, Mar 22, 2003.

1. bakergurl6

bakergurl6

I would like to ask for help making better meatballs; and hopefully be more consistent, in how they turn out. I add an egg; and bread crumbs, and ground beef, and spices, and a little ketchup.
    Is it a matter of the bread crumbs; and not adding enough to hold it together, when I fry them?
    Maybe it's just that I don't cook much with ground beef, that I'm not very good at; but if I was making meatballs for myself I would rather use ground turkey anyway, it's leaner, and beef just doesn't agree with me anymore.:confused:

2. athenaeus

athenaeus

Exp:
    At home cook
    I always use soaked -in water- bread crumbs, the rest of the recipe is the same without ketchup of course but with garlic and onions as well. An egg and some fresh mint and there you go.

You have to work your mixture well with your hands though and then fry your meat balls them in very hot oil!

How big you make them?

3. katew

katew

For a pound of ground meat i use just one slice of white bread, crusts removed, cooked in like half a cup of milk in a saucepan until boiling, remove from heat and let cool. Mash it up and mix in with meat, an egg, and whatever herbs, spices, onion and garlic you like to use. I make them about an inch in diameter and don't handle them too much.
    Edit: what i mean by don't handle it much is don't compact them to death when you form them.

4. suzanne

suzanne

Exp:
    Food Editor