I need a chef's opinion about schools

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by sharona27, Nov 15, 2004.

1. sharona27

sharona27

Hi I am looking to attend culinary school. I wanted some thoughts (good and bad) on culinary schools. I want to know what you think about the French Culinary Institute in New York city, The Institute of Culinary Education also in New York city, and Apicius The Culinary Institute of Florence Italy. Any input would be helpful. Have you hired any of these graduates? Do these schools have good reputations? I would like people in the business to tell me real things. The schools have great things to say about themselves (of course), but I want an industry member's point of view. Thanks.

2. riverrun

riverrun

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    I'm a graduate of the CIA in hyde park and it's my feeling that all culinary schools are good but it all depends on the students williness to learn on there own. There all going to teach you basic cooking techniques but it is souly up to the individual to take it further. Some schools have different teaching techniques such as more class-room and less hands on. You should determine the best way you learn wether it's from a book or actually doing it (hands-on). Then decide on what school is going to cater to your style of learning and also what you intend on doing with the education after you recive it, such as being a chef or more into the management end of the business. Good Luck :chef:

3. cyberchef

cyberchef

Say school for me was the best thing I ever did.I feel with out classical training you would be years behind someone with schooling.
    The CIA was like a mecca for foodies and chefs for me made great friends and culinary connections that I take to the bank every 2 weeks.

LIVE TO EAT NOT EAT TO LIVE
    Http://home.si.rr.com/chefmattspage/

4. hereb

hereb