I feel like a failure

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by ruvster, May 13, 2017.

1. ruvster

ruvster

Exp:
    Line Cook
    I interned at a Ritz Carlton working in a casual dining restaurant for 4 months. Now I'm interning at a Remington hotel for the rest of the year in a somewhat fine dining. I had great performance back at Ritz when I was working grill when I was cooking burgers (different temperature) and French dips etc. But once I moved to Remington everything changed. It's my first time cooking steaks (filet mignon and NY strip) and I have consistent complains over cooked and undercooked steak and lately I heard the sous chef was talking to one of the other line cook about my performance. I am here for a month already and my performance is still crappy.

2. cheflayne

cheflayne

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    Guess you might as well shoot yourself. Your life is over...I hope you know I am kidding. So what can we change?

From my point of view, they improperly trained you before cutting you loose on the grill. That is on them. Nothing we can change about that.

Now let's look at your part, you are struggling with a new situation. What can we change about that?

Feel, touch, prod every single steak that goes out. Commit the feel to your memory banks. Now if a steak comes back for being improperly cooked, this is your greatest learning opportunity...because it has been cut into! This allows you to see the direct results and compare them to your stored away impressions of the touch test, thereby increasing your true practical hands on knowledge.

If a steak comes back, don't despair, don't fuss, don't cuss, don't get down on yourself, instead focus on touching, feeling, prodding the steak before cooking it more or grabbing a new steak. Don't waste this learning moment. Commit this touch knowledge to your memory banks