I am looking for other soon to be pastry art students...or pastry art students already in school

Discussion in 'General Culinary School Discussions' started by ashleynicole, Feb 17, 2010.

1. ashleynicole

ashleynicole

Exp:
    Other
    I will be going to Sullivan in Louisville KY
    My name is Ashley and I am looking for people to talk too
    I would like to talk to others who have the same passion as me
    please email me [email protected]

ashley x

2. dphagan

dphagan

Hi Ashley,

I'm Dave.  I just started Culinary School at the Anne Arundel Community College, Hospitality Culinary Arts and Tourism Institute (HCAT) in Arnold, MD.  The semester started about a month ago, but due to record setting snow (we got 5 feet at my house), we're only on the 4th week of classes.  I'm a Baking and Pastry student, but I'm considering doing Culinary as well.  Its only a few extra classes and they all seem very interesting.

First off, books are expensive.  That is pretty much unavoidable.  After looking at the book that we're using for quite a few classes, On Cooking by Sara Lebensky, at a local bookstore, I realized that it was one book I definitely want to keep forever.  It has a ton of great pictures and step by step diagrams.  Even after I develop those skills, it will make a great reference.