I am getting a high paying job in a different industry. Should i quit my career as a chef?

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by chef brah, Dec 20, 2016.

1. chef brah

chef brah

Exp:
    Culinary Student
    I am not seeing any money come in anytime soon as a chef but i am still enjoying learning.

I am 27.

i used to work in tech and but i have been cooking for 5 years as a strong hobby. recently i started interning at a michelin star restaurant but i m not really earning and surviving on my savings from my career as a digital consultant. 

now i am getting similar job but with an ecommerce startup and its too tempting in terms of salary (roughly $5.5k a month).

and its based in nyc.

at best i will be able to host supperclubs and stage at restaurant on weekends selectively.

Last edited: Dec 20, 2016
  2. luis de vence

luis de vence

Exp:
    Line Cook
    Is cooking your passion? Do you have a family? Will you be happy going back to being a tech? 5.5k a month, i'd be tempted too.

3. someday

someday

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    Yes you should quit. 

4. phaedrus

phaedrus

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    Pretty hard to tell you to stick it out.  You're young with many years of working ahead of you.  Assuming you don't mind IT and are good at it you'd probably be a lot better off going back to it.  I love the kitchen but I'm 20 years older than (and I don't have any desire to do IT/InfoSec), seems like a no-brainer to me.  You can still stage or moonlight if you want.

5. chef brah

chef brah

Exp:
    Culinary Student
    yes i was thinking i can do staging on weekends and host supperclubs (private dinners) at a venue.

cooking is just an aspect of life i cannot give up and having an audience to give feedback does encourage me a lot

6. flipflopgirl

flipflopgirl

Exp:
    Retired Hospitality
    Congrats on the offer.

Be sure to take advantage of whatever retirement savings benefits this new place offers.