How to enter the "chef" world?

Discussion in 'General Culinary School Discussions' started by gobblygook, Aug 26, 2010.

1. gobblygook

gobblygook

Exp:
    I Just Like Food
    As a bit of an introduction, I'm 40 years old, married with two small children.  I work in the IT industry and must continue to, in order to support my family.  However, I really enjoy restaurants.  I have worked in a couple of large pizza chains, owned a very small pizza joint in my youth, and have worked as a server --- none of which have been in the last 15 years.  I want to open my own restaurant, but am not ready to risk my retirement fund without good experience and skills.

As for my level of desire, I have no desire to be a world-famous chef.  I wouldn't mind being "boss", but I have no desire to become a true chef.  I don't enjoy the types of food that great chefs can prepare.  The menu on Hell's Kitchen is about as high-end as I want to go.  I also have no desire to spew French words for everything I do.  I'm more of a "crap in the right spots" than "mise in place". 

I would like to get a part time job where I'm paid next to nothing and can LEARN.  I need to practice knife skills, learn some techniques, and am willing to work hard for little money for the exchange for providing sub-par abilities on the front end.  I'm not above bussing tables or washing dishes (and actually need the experience if I plan to ever have my own restaurant).  However, I'm trying to determine how to find the right restaurant where I can learn quality skills rather than how to open bags and cans. 

I accept that I need to put in time as a prep cook and as a line cook.  My "vision" of a restaurant wouldn't have a "head chef", and "line cook" would be the top job.