How to deal with Sysco?

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by mclain, May 14, 2019.

1. mclain

mclain

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    I've worked with several different food service purveyors over the years, and I've experienced the entire spectrum of reps and salesmen and account managers. I have more respect and appreciation for the reps that come from restaurant and professional kitchen experience, because I believe that they have more respect and appreciation for my job than anyone else can comprehend. I don't appreciate the salesmen who just drop in cold call style because they have a visiting meat rep or whatever, expecting that I should stop what I'm doing right now and give them audience. As a working chef I have my day planned out to the minute and second, and therefore do not respond well to the drop in approach.

Emojitsu likes this.
  2. phaedrus

phaedrus

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    They may or may not be necessary but they are evil.:mad: I'm stuck with them in my present job. Overall they're okay and I have a pretty solid rep. But I do get the 'drop in' occasionally.

3. mclain

mclain

Exp:
    Professional Chef