How to deal with annoying waiters?

Discussion in 'Professional Chefs' started by rocktrns, Aug 23, 2010.

1. rocktrns

rocktrns

Exp:
    Line Cook
    Well the other day I worked the line during the breakfast shift and I'm still learning. I have my omeletes down pact,but I still cant flip the sunny side eggs with out breaking the yolks. Anyway I'm only 17 and I still am learning how to move faster and multitask,and the waiters arent understanding too that. Like when I make a mistake they start grinning at each other and speaking in another language. They say I'm going slow but when ever I have to food out fast they are no where insight to give it to the customers. How do I deal with these annoying waiters. I'm about 3 months into this industry and of course I'm going to make mistakes,but I can always learn from then so how can I deal with people that will try to bring my confidence down into thinking I'm not a good cook.

2. greg

greg

Exp:
    Professional Chef
    Well, you're not a good cook, not yet anyway. Think of this though: with practice and time, you'll become a good cook. The annoying servers on the other hand, will still just be annoying gossipy servers that put other people down to make themselves feel better.

When you said you can't flip sunny side up eggs, did you mean the over easy/medium/hard eggs? I know some people do flip sunnys to briefly cook the top, then flip back. If that's what the chef wants you to do, ask him if it's okay to cover the pan instead (similar to a basted egg, but with no water).

3. chefboyarg

chefboyarg

Exp:
    Line Cook
    Yeh dude it's ridiculous for them to think you'll be cranking out food lightning quick when you have pretty much just entered the industry.  Either just ignore them or next time you have food sitting in the pass for any length of time ask them something along the lines of "Think maybe you could pick this up a little faster next time Flash?"

4. rocktrns

rocktrns

Exp:
    Line Cook